No comments yet

 Experiencing the World, One Dance at a Time

APRIL 2020 NEWSLETTER

Twitter Facebook Instagram YouTube

Dear Bare Feet Fans,

It’s hard to really wrap my head around what has transpired over the past month – our lives have completely changed.  I have friends who have lost loved ones; I haven’t been able to hug my own parents; work is on a pause indefinitely; and we are living in a moment in history that we still have yet to understand the emotional, social, and economic impact of COVID-19.  I’m trying to stay as busy as possible, taking each day as it comes, but some days are harder than others.  And I’ll be honest, yesterday was rough.  But my goal is to try and move, to dance a little, to smile, to get some fresh air, and to connect with so many any way possible.  I hope this newsletter gives you some inspiration on ways to join me in staying connected with the world – one project that has moved me so much was a collaboration I was a part of with Mauro Durante and Silvia Perrone of Canzoniere Grecanico Salentino and 150 other dancers around the world.  Please see the beautiful piece that was born from this moment, WE’RE ALL IN THE SAME DANCE.
Be well, stay home, and I hope to dance with you all very soon.
– Mickela Mallozzi
WERE ALL IN THE SAME DANCE

Watch the WE’RE ALL IN THE SAME DANCE collaboration video.

#BareFeetDNA on Create TV

Tune in TODAY and every Tuesday to watch the #BareFeetDNA season on Create TV – today’s episode is an especially emotional one for Mickela, where she connects with so many beautiful people in Morocco, experiencing the incredible hospitality of the people there.  You have three chances to catch today’s episode (*check local listings for time and channel):

10am ET / 7am PT
5pm ET / 2pm PT
10pm ET / 7pm PT

Watch the preview for today's #BareFeetDNA episode in Morocco!

Join Mickela on #BareFeetLIVE

Dance with Mickela LIVE right in your own living room TODAY at 1pm ET / 10am PT on the Bare Feet with Mickela Mallozzi Facebook Page.  Every week, she’s taking us around the world to dance with musician and dancer friends of hers, all while we #stayhome.  Today, Mickela joins Milteri Tucker of Bombazo Dance Company to teach us some bomba from the beautiful island of Puerto Rico!  And this Thursday on Instagram LIVE at @travelbarefeet, Mickela will join legendary tap dancer Jason Samuels Smith to give us all a little lesson on tap improvisation – all levels are welcome!
Missed any of the previous #BareFeetLIVE sessions?  Don’t worry, all videos are up on our Facebook Page and on our IGTV!  Re-watch and dance with us whenever you want – from Haitian dance with Julio Jean to the Irish brush dance with Anne-Marie Nelligan to the Haya dance from Tanzania with Justa Lujwangana of Curious on Tanzania!

Homeschooling with Bare Feet

We are so excited to share that the New York City Department of Education is currently using the #BareFeetSeries for their dance curriculum as teachers and students are learning from home.  And we want YOU to know that all 26 episodes from Seasons 1 & 2 of Bare Feet are available FOR FREE on the PBS App and on PBS.org, as well as Amazon Prime Video, to help with your own home learning – get your kids up and moving around the world with Mickela, teaching them world cultures, geography, and of course a little bit of the rhythms and dances from each of these places!  We hope this helps during this time at home – and stay tuned, our new Season 3 will be available online very soon!

 

See Full Newsletter

Comments are closed.